Rocznik Lituanistyczny


It was no sooner than almost a quarter of a century after the establishment of the Commission for Lithuanian Studies of the Committee of Historical Sciences of the Polish Academy of Sciences that the journal was created to publish not only texts based on papers delivered during the annual conferences of the Commission, but also to document the activity of the international community of researchers of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania.

For many years, the Commission did not publish the papers presented. However, the presence of members of the editorial boards of renowned scientific journals helped to publish at least some of the papers. The breakthrough came with Urszula Augustyniak, whose determination – and editorial acumen – resulted in the publication of the three volumes of materials: Cultural circles and cultural contacts of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania from the 15th to the 19th century (2009), Public life in the Polish Commonwealth of the 16th–18th century (2010) and Tradition – methods of transmission and form of commemoration in the Polish-Lithuanian state from the 15th to the first half of the 19th century (2011). Currently, with the spirit of the times, the Commission is starting to publish electronic and printed issues of the Lithuanistica Annual.

It will publish works by researchers studying various aspects of the historical Lithuanian lands: historians, linguists, literary historians, specialists in heraldry, art historians, historians of law, archaeologists and musicologists. Besides research articles, the yearly includes short papers and materials for research, review articles, reviews and notes as well as materials chronicling the life of the research community.


PL ISSN 2450-8446
e-ISSN 2450-8454



Urszula Augustyniak
(Warsaw University)

Andrzej Buczyło – secretary
(Institute of History of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw)

Joanna Kunigielis – secretary
(Institute of History of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw)

Henryk Lulewicz
(Institute of History of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw)

Jakub Niedźwiedź
(Jagiellonian University)

Andrzej Rachuba
(Institute of History of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw)

Andrzej Zakrzewski – editor-in-chief
(Warsaw University)


Editorial Board

Richard Butterwick-Pawlikowski
(University College London)

Marek Ferenc
(Jagiellonian University)

David Frick
(University of California, Berkeley)

Karin Friedrich
(University of Aberdeen)

Robert Frost
(University of Aberdeen)

Zigmantas Kiaupa
(Institute of Lithuanian History, emeritus)

Margarita Korzo
(Institute of Philosophy of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow)

Rimvydas Petrauskas
(Vilnius University)

Krzysztof Pietkiewicz
(Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań) .

Andrey Radaman
(National Academy of Sciences of Belarus)

Natalia Starchenko
(National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine)

Henryk Wisner – chairman
(Institute of History of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, emeritus)


Rocznik Lituanistyczny
Instytut Historii PAN
Rynek Starego Miasta 29/31
00-272 Warszawa


Journal website: