Polska 1944/45–1989. Studia i materiały


Polska 1944/45–1989. Studia i materiały [English: Poland 1944/45–1989. Studies and materials] is published by the Institute of History of the Polish Academy of Sciences. Since the thirteenth issue, the journal has been released annually as one of the most recognisable journals devoted to the history of post-war Poland, being appreciated both in Poland and abroad.

The first issue was published in 1995 in response to demand for this type of journal dealing with the most recent history of Poland; at the same time, it referred to the seven-volume series “Polska Ludowa. Materials and Studies” published in 1962–1968.

In its over-twenty-year history, several hundred scientific articles and source editions have been published in several volumes (including four thematic ones). The editorial team was headed by prof. Krystyna Kersten, who at the same time led the Unit for Polish History after 1945, which was transformed over time into the Department for Research in Polish History after 1945. Other members of the editorial office were: prof. Jerzy Eisler, prof. Dariusz Jarosz, prof. Henryk Słabek and prof. Tomasz Szarota. Since the sixth issue, the duties of the editor-in-chief have been taken on by prof. Tomasz Szarota. The Scientific Council is composed of eminent historians from all over the world, such as Jędrzej Chumiński, Antoni Dudek, Andrzej Friszke, Paul Gradvohl, Padraic Kenney, Marcin Kula, Miklós Mitrovits, Andrzej Paczkowski, Anna Pelka, Dušan Segeš, Rafał Stobiecki, Bożena Szaynok, János Tischler, Marek Wierzbicki, Rafał Wnuk, Anna Wolff-Powęska and Vadim Volobuyev.


PL ISSN 2450-8357
e-ISSN 2450-8365



prof. dr hab. Jerzy Eisler

prof. dr hab. Dariusz Jarosz

prof. dr hab. Krzysztof Kosiński

prof. dr hab. Tomasz Szarota (editor-in-chief)

dr Hubert Wilk (editorial secretary)

prof. dr hab. Tadeusz Wolsza


Editorial Board

dr hab. Jędrzej Chumiński
Department of Philosophy and Economic History, Wrocław University of Economics

prof. dr hab. Antoni Dudek
Institute of Political Science, Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University

prof. dr hab. Andrzej Friszke
Department of Recent Political History
Institute of Political Studies of the Polish Academy of Sciences

Paul Gradvohl
Centre for French Culture and Francophone Studies at the University of Warsaw

prof. Padraic Kenney
Indiana University

prof. dr hab. Marcin Kula
Theatre Academy in Warsaw

dr Miklós Mitrovits
Magyar Tudományos Akadémia

prof. dr hab. Andrzej Paczkowski
Department of Recent Political History
Institute of Political Studies of the Polish Academy of Sciences

dr Anna Pelka
Historisches Seminar der LMU
Abteilung Neueste Geschichte und Zeitgeschichte

dr Dušan Segeš
Historický ústav SAV

prof. dr hab. Rafał Stobiecki
Institute of History of the University of Łódź

dr hab. Bożena Szaynok
Department of Recent History
Historical Institute of the University of Wrocław

Dr János Tischler
Hungarian Institute of Culture

dr hab. Marek Wierzbicki
the Radom branch of the Institute of National Remembrance

prof. dr hab. Rafał Wnuk
Department of History and Historiography of Eastern Europe
Institute of History of John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin

prof. dr hab. Anna Wolff-Powęska
Department of Political Science and Journalism
Adam Mickiewicz University

Dr Vadim Volobuyev
Институт Cлавяноведения Российской Aкадемиии Hаук


Polska 1944/45–1989
Instytut Historii PAN
Rynek Starego Miasta 29/31
00-272 Warszawa

e-mail: polska@ihpan.edu.pl

Journal website: http://polska-ihpan.edu.pl